Board columns keep cards organised in their various stages of progress. They can be used to create a workflow where cards are moved across columns from start to finish, or simply act as a place to keep track of the tasks. 


By default a new board has the following three columns:

  • Not Started
  • In Progress
  • Completed

... but you can change the columns to reflect any status you want. There is no limit to the number of columns you can add to a board, and they can be arranged in any order you like.



The status of the tasks in the right column of a board is always set to Completed regardless of the column name. The status of the tasks in the preceding columns is set to Open.




Board settings page


You can customise board columns at the time of the board creation or by navigating to the Board settings page if the board already exists. 


To access the board settings page, click on the Edit button on the top right of the board or backlog page.




Note that only board owners can access the board settings page and customise themes.




Customising board columns


The board column section of the board settings page allows you to create new columns, update the column definition or delete existing columns.


Each column must have a status name. The list of owners and the expected resolution time can also be set for each column.



  • To add a new column, click on the Add Column button.
  • To reorder columns, click and drag on the spine of the column card.
  • To delete a column, click on the x icon.


Note that you need to save the changes for them to be applied.