In this article, we cover off the various options available to you to for updating actions, decisions or tasks on someone else's behalf.



There are 2 circumstances under which you can update the status of an item on someone else's behalf:


1) You have FULL EDIT RIGHTS to the meeting, project, board or WorkHub that the item originates from. 

  • Meeting: You are the owner, or facilitator of the meeting under the meeting settings.
  • Board: You are a member of the board under the board settings.
  • WorkHub: You are the owner, or facilitator of the WorkHub under the WorkHub settings.
  • Project: You are the Project Manager or Project Editor on the project under the project settings.


2) You are the one who created the assigned item.

The details of who created an item can be found in the bottom right corner of an item's open dialog.





As one of the world’s top innovative companies, Apple appoints a “Directly Responsible Individual” as key to achieving a culture of accountability where things keep moving forward and meetings are always productive.

In the same way Fluid encourages full ownership and responsibility of items assigned by limiting the opportunities to delegate or 'share' a to-do list for someone else to maintain and update.



The following options are available to you if you need to update items for a stakeholder:



Be permissioned with FULL EDIT RIGHTS to the meeting, project, board or WorkHub that the stakeholder wants you to provide updates to. Contact the current owners and/or facilitators and request that they permission you with the appropriate role that will allow you the rights to manage and update items assigned to your stakeholder on their behalf.



If this is not a viable option because of sensitivity on other content (these roles will give you full edit access to everything) - or because there are just too many meetings, projects, boards or WorkHub to cover, then your stakeholder can request and ensure you are added as a second assignee on all their assigned items. In this way, you would be able to provide status updates and feedback onto the item from your My Items dashboard without having access to the meeting, project, board or WorkHub itself. Your updates will be visible to your stakeholder and all other members:

  • Meeting, project or WorkHub: When you close an action or decision then the owner/facilitator can close it on your stakeholders' behalf (actions and decisions hold a separate status for each assignee).
  • Boards: If you close a task it will be closed for your stakeholder as well (tasks only hold a single status, regardless of the number of assignees).