User roles: ✔ User Administrator
In this article we will cover the principles around user licenses and the roles required for an active user account.
Note that you will need to be a user administrator to be able to access the user management page.
Active User Accounts
The access a user has to various capabilities and functionality in Fluid is related to the roles that are assigned to their account. A user account is classified as an active account when it has the "User" role set.
The different types of security roles are defined and can be found by clicking here.
Reassigning user accounts/deactivating user accounts
User accounts can be deactivated to accommodate:
- Reassigning of user accounts - this is an option that can be used when there are limited user licenses for an instance, deactivating an existing account that has served its use and creating a new user account for the new user that will replace the previous user.
- Deactivating user accounts - this option is used when a user account has come to the end of their allocated time, their account is then deactivated at which point the user will no longer receive notifications from Fluid.
To deactivate a user account, open to the user's account and navigate to the Resource Plans section to edit the resource plan by clicking on the edit icon (edit pencil).
When editing the resource plan, change/set the end date of the resource plan to a past date (any date prior to the current date of the year) and then save.
Once the resource plan is saved, click on Update to apply the change which will deactivate the account.
Non-active accounts/Ghost accounts
An account with no roles associated to it is known as a 'ghost' account. Ghost accounts are used when:
- A person needs to be represented in Fluid to be added to projects, meetings, boards for reporting purposes, but is not expected to access Fluid. Without any roles assigned to it an account cannot be used, so these accounts are not licensed.
When setting ghost accounts, the notifications of the account must be set to "No" to avoid the user receiving email notifications.